Tags

, , , , , ,

When I first got into reptiles the only way I knew to house them was with a glass aquarium. You put a heat lamp over it and threw in a heat rock as well. I thought I had to have the half log hides and everything was kind of expensive. When I started breeding python I was introduced to heat cable, heat tape, home made hides, and snake racks. I purchased my first snake rack with heat cable and tubs for over $1000. At the time I had the funds and thought it was awesome. After growing my collection I needed more racks but didn’t want to break the bank. I closely looked at the rack I had and started thinking how could I build my own rack. This blog is what I came up with and have been using for years. For the rest if this blog I will post what items I use to build my own racks, plus a few additional items for extra help. I will list the item, the price and where I get the items. Feel free to reply with any comments or suggestions to help.

Lets start with the racks. I use the wire racks that you can find at Home Depot, Walmart and Amazon. You can build them quick, easy to move, hold up weight well, and heat cable can be used on 24/7.

20140816_141028 20140816_141349

The smaller rack (Left) I use costs around $50 at Walmart or on Amazon and the larger rack (Right) I use is found every day at Home Depot for $100. I have only seen the larger rack at Home Depot but it has popped up on Amazon for the same price a few times.The smaller rack holds 41 quart tubs which are 34.75”L x 16.5”W x 6”H, which is great for young pythons and smaller pythons. These tubs are also bigger that a 20 gal long, glass aquarium. The larger rack is perfect for holding 74 quart tubs which is great for adult pythons who need 8 square feet of space. The 74 quart tubs measure 44″ long by 20″ wide by 7″ high. All measurements are in inches. The 41 quart costs about $10 at Walmart, Amazon, Home Depot and Target. The 74 quart tubs are only at Lowes, on Amazon and Target and usually cost around $20. Rumor has it that the 74 quart is no longer being made. I stocked up but the rest of you may need to look for other sources of 74 quart tubs. I will post on my Facebook page if I ever find a new source.

I usually buy 2 racks at a time and combine them into one. This will hold up top 10 tubs on both the large and small racks. The spacing between each tub keeps snakes from getting out but I also will use bungee cord to add extra security.

I drill two levels of holes along the sides of the tubs and then on the tops I drill based on humidity level needed and air flow. The number of holes I drill in the top is a very hard to describe science but feel free to email me what snake you have, what size tub, house temp and I will tell you how many and where. (snakeboss1609@gmail.com)

In side the each tub I use cheap water bowls form Walmart. They can me cleaned easy and it serves its purpose. Now I use either paper towel or news paper for bedding but feel free you use what you want. For a hide place for snakes I use plastic under pot water saucers.

20140818_212419

They come in may sizes and colors and the are cheap. The biggest will house an adult blood python, and costs $5 while the smallest is great for ball pythons and smaller snakes and costs under $1. I cut an opening large enough for the snake to get through and then I use sand paper to smooth out all the sharp edges.

The next item you will need is heat cable. There are many different brands and sizes and I will only cover what I use. I use Zoo Med Reptile heat cable and it can be found at any major pet store but I order mine through Amazon. The sizes I most commonly use are the 52 ft, the 39 ft, and the 15 ft cables. Through Amazon I pay around $45 for the 52 ft, around $25 for the 39 ft, and $10 is the most I paid for the 15 ft cable. I weave the cable in and out of different wire points to make sure I have a great heat spot for my reptiles.

20140816_141150Zoo Med Reptile Heat Cable 50 Watts, 23 feet

This is how I weave it into the wire racks as this image shows:

20140816_141037

For the smaller racks I use 5 lines across and on the larger racks I do 8 lines across.

Now these heat cables can get really HOT!! I use a light dimmer to bring the heat down to meet the snakes’ needs. I get my light dimmers from Home Depot because they are the cheapest I have seen and the easiest to use. They cost around $12

20140816_141211

From there I adjust to see where day time temps should be and then night time temps. Use any source of temp reader you have available and make marks on the dimmer to where your day and night time temps will be at. Once you have this set for the reptiles you keep, you can repeat this every time.

There you have it, a cheaper way to build your own racks. Price depends on source of each product and local tax. Stores also charge different prices in different areas. I can get the 74 quart tub at the target down the street from my house for $20, but at the target near my work they cost $30. You can do different things with all of this. I have found ways to make this work for bearded dragons, geckos, hedgehogs, and more. Use your imagination and email, Facebook or tweet me what you use or come up with. 

Email: snakeboss1609@yahoo.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/BigBossReptiles

Twitter: @SnakeBoss1609