Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On June 22nd I was checking Facebook and went to the Hybrid Pythons, Boas, and Reptiles page to discover something new had been achieved. Elijah Armas posted a picture of the first three way hybrid python. This snake is 50% Angolan python, 25% Blood python, and 25% Ball python. He bred his male Angolan to a SuperBall (Blood x Ball) python he had to create this new hybrid. This is the initial picture posted:

When I saw this I had to reach out to Elijah to ask him a few questions and share this with as many people as I could. Elijah agreed to answer my questions and said I could share his pictures, replies, and video. He will also keep me posted on them as he is not selling the,m but using them for other projects.

Question 1: What draws you into owning and breeding hybrids?

Reply: In 2011 I learned of ordering reptiles online and about the hobby in general. The fifth snake I ordered online happen to be a SuperBall hybrid. I didn’t know about the hate some have towards hybrids at the time but I can care less either way. I just like the way some of the hybrids look when mixed. Goal for this clutch was to get an animal that looked like a SuperBall with the skin texture of an Angolan python. It didn’t quite turn out that way but I couldn’t be more pleased with they way they are.

Question 2: How long have you been working on this project?

Reply: Not very long, I purchased an adult virgin male Angolan last summer. I went and bred him to the SuperBall in November so it was my very first attempt at breeding hybrids.

While many struggle for years to produce a hybrid, Elijah had nailed it with his first attempt. Some may some just dumb luck but I believe it is from his passion for the hobby and well kept snakes. Healthier snakes will breed easier and produce healthier offspring.

Question 3: Did you do any prior research before attempting the mix?

Reply: No research I just set them up with my ball and blood python breeding schedule.

Question 4: How many eggs and how many hatched?

Reply: 9 good eggs laid, 1 slug and dud as well. One egg starting going bad at the last week of incubation, the baby was severely deformed. As of now all babies are out and healthy except for one. The one that’s in the egg looks healthy as well but is taking his/her time to come out.

Question 5: Would you say these babies are larger or smaller than the normal ball or blood hatchlings?

Reply: There definitely longer then both other species. More girth then ball hatchlings but less then a blood.

At the time they were fresh from hatch and were not showing feeding signs yet. I did ask but he had not attempted a feeding. Since the initial interview with Elijah, they have started eating and have great appetites.

Question 6: Any signs of health issues?

Reply: No problems yet, they very active and a few are starting to show defensive signs.

I had ask several behavioral questions but they are still too young to start showing from which parents do they get their defenses from. As they get older Elijah said he will keep me updated on their behaviors. I will update post as he updates me.

Question 7: Any plans for these snakes or other hybrid projects?

Reply: I definitely want to pair up the two best looking babies to produce F2 versions. I may do this same pairing again this coming season if all of these hybrids are doing good by then. And I’ll be pairing the Angolan male directly to a Blood python. He tried locking with a blood last season but I didn’t give him enough chances to do so as I was to focused on him breeding with the SuperBall.

Question 8: Now do you plan on selling them?

Reply: I’m letting one go to a buddy for now and holding the rest back. I want to hold them for a while before anything as I know some hybrids die within a year even though they looked completely healthy.

Elijah is definitely a smart and responsible breeder. He allowed me the use of his pictures so here are the pictures for the Super Angry Ball Python:

You can also go to his YouTube video to see more:

Elijah currently does not have a website for further pictures or links but I look forward to updating this post.